Webb School of Knoxville
Webb School of Knoxville

President Search

A Message from the Search Committee Chairs

At the beginning of this calendar year, Michael McBrien shared his decision to retire after eight years as Webb School of Knoxville’s President.  Michael has been a wonderful asset to our school as he led the development and execution of the school’s strategic plan, completed the $15M Reimaging Extraordinary capital campaign, and guided our school through the difficult COVID-19 pandemic.  He and his wife Betsy have been wonderful ambassadors for our school, and we look forward to celebrating them as Michael completes his service during the 2022-2023 school year.

Now, our attention turns to finding a leader who can build on Webb’s momentum. In the next few years, our new President will create the next strategic plan for the school, strengthen and motivate our outstanding faculty, and look for ways to deliver on Webb’s mission to build leaders of character.

The Board charged a diverse search committee with creating the position statement and conducting a national search to find Webb’s next leader.  As a part of our efforts, we have contracted with Ben Bolte and Marguerite Lloyd of Carney Sandoe and Associates to consult with us to ensure that we have a breadth of excellent candidates to consider.

This website will be a regular place for us to share updates with potential candidates and with the Webb community. 

There is a palpable sense of energy around Webb and around our region. We look forward to the process for finding the next leader who can capitalize on this progress and author the next chapter in Webb’s history.

John Tolsma and Mark Taylor, Search Committee Chairs

Interested in applying?

Interested applicants should contact: bbolte@carneysandoe.com or marguerite.lloyd@carneysandoe.com


Any other questions can be sent to the Search Committee inbox at: presidentsearch@webbschool.org

Meet the Search Committee

Laura Barton: Webb School Faculty

Cindy McCallen Cassity ’86

Annie Haslam Colquitt ‘05: Current Board Member

Diana Curtis: Webb School Faculty

Rob Frost '86: Current Board Member

Jonathan P. Johnson ‘93: Current Board Member

Matt Kaye: Current Board Member

George M. Krisle III ’62

Misty D. Mayes: Current Board Chair 

Mark Taylor: Current Board Member

John Tolsma: Former Board Chair

Ben White: Webb School Faculty

Donovan Whiteside '10: Current Board Member

Our Mission

The mission of Webb School is to inspire and nurture the full potential of each individual and to prepare our students to serve as leaders of character in tomorrow's world.

Our mission is supported and achieved by our key values:

  • The pursuit of academic excellence

  • A strong sense of honor and personal integrity

  • The development of critical, creative, and socially conscious thinking

  • A culture of interacting with others in a respectful and productive manner in a vibrant, caring community