Webb School's Cum Laude Society Welcomes Newest Members

Webb School of Knoxville’s Cum Laude Society chapter proudly celebrated 25 new senior class inductees for 2017-2018 at a recent Upper School Chapel ceremony, in recognition of the students’ exemplary scholarship.
Founded in 1906 and patterned after the college honorary society Phi Beta Kappa, the Cum Laude Society recognizes outstanding academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence (Areté), justice (Diké) and honor (Timé). Areté includes excellence in both the scholastic and moral sense. Diké involves the concept of what is suitable and appropriate, as well as just. Timé includes dignity and truth, in addition to honor.
There are more than 380 Cum Laude Society chapters across the United States and in England, France, Spain, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Some 4,000 new student members are inducted annually. Membership is limited to qualified seniors in the upper 20 percent of their respective core high school classes.
Webb School congratulates the following Class of 2018 Cum Laude Society inductees for 2017-2018:

  • Rachel Anderson
  • Emily Bruner
  • Katherine Bullen
  • Meg Cathey
  • Emma Chow
  • Abigail Coughlin
  • Carter Coughlin
  • Evan Davies
  • Davis DeLozier
  • Simone Digby
  • Emma Harris
  • Elizabeth Hethmon
  • Kiran Hussaini
  • Camden Jones
  • Hallie Longest
  • Elizabeth Moore
  • Tony Nadrous
  • Kate Partridge
  • James Sanger
  • Emory Scism
  • Spencer Williams
  • Anna Wisniewski
  • Lauren Yoon
  • Jake Yount
  • Clara Zion
Upper School Spanish teacher Lauren Doucette and Upper School English teachers Kendra Perry and Rachel Pope were also inducted into Webb’s Cum Laude Society for 2017-2018. Faculty/administration membership is based on previous Cum Laude membership, Phi Beta Kappa membership or department chair status.
Webb hosted a lunch reception for the new Cum Laude members and their families, following the induction ceremony.