Alumni Awards

We have a saying at Webb School . . . “Once a Spartan, Always a Spartan.” Whether you attended Webb for one year or all 13 years, you're part of the Webb School family and its legacy.  Please feel free to visit our campus anytime. And please use the information and resources in this section to connect or reconnect with us.

Webb's Distinguished Alumni Award

List of 1 items.

  • About Maurie McInnis ’84 - 2017 Award Winner

    As executive vice president and provost at the University of Texas at Austin, Maurie McInnis leads strategic planning for the university's academic mission, and ensures academic programs are world-class and aligned with the university's commitment to diversity and equity. Her responsibilities include leading academic programs and initiatives across the university’s 18 colleges and schools, which serve more than 51,000 students and support more than 3,000 teaching and research faculty. In addition, McInnis oversees the university’s libraries and museums, archival collections, research centers, and academic support units.

    Dr. McInnis is a renowned scholar in the cultural history of American art in the colonial and antebellum South. Her scholarship focuses on the relationship between politics and art in early America. Her most recent book, Slaves Waiting for Sale: Abolitionist Art and the American Slave Trade, features art depicting the American slave trade and how it influenced public perception of slavery in America. It was awarded the Charles C. Eldredge Book Prize from the Smithsonian American Art Museum, as well as the Library of Virginia Literary Award for nonfiction. McInnis also works regularly with museums and historic sites.

    McInnis earned a bachelor's degree with highest distinction in art history from University of Virginia and a master's degree and Ph.D., also in art history, from Yale University. Prior to serving as provost at The University of Texas at Austin, she served the University of Virginia for almost 20 years in various academic and administrative appointments, including vice provost for academic affairs, associate dean for undergraduate academic programs in the College of Arts and Sciences, director of American Studies, and professor of art history.

    In addition to her role as provost at UT Austin, McInnis has dual faculty appointments in the Department of American Studies and the Department of Art and Art History. She also holds the Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities.
Webb School of Knoxville's Distinguished Alumnus/na Award is presented annually to an alumnus/na whose business or professional accomplishments and service to others exemplify the goals of Webb School in the spirit of its motto, "principes non homines - leaders not men."
Nominations are received from alumni and other members of the Webb community. Webb’s Alumni Leadership Council will decide the recipient from the pool of candidates. Once submitted, nominations are kept on file for consideration for five consecutive years.
If you know of an alumnus/na who you would like to be considered for the award, please complete the nomination form (CLICK HERE FOR FORM) and return it to Ashley Stamper, Webb Alumni Coordinator.

List of 1 items.

  • Past Recipients

    1991 - Jefferson Chapman ’61
    1992 - Robin L. Line ’64
    1993 - Teresa E. Barnett ’75
    1994 - W. Baxter Lee ’61
    1995 - William Haslam ’76
    1996 - Monica Langley ’76
    1997 - Michael McClamroch ’82
    1998 - Minky Worden ’85
    1999 - Iang Jeon ’78
    2000 - Missy Bell Boltwood ’81
    2001 - Paige Overton Pitts ’84
    2002 - Doug Briggs ’79
    2003 - Terri Tarvin Ward ’75
    2004 - Chad Pennington ’95
    2005 - Rebecca Hardin ’84
    2006 - Joseph M. Tipton ’64
    2007 - David A. Bowen ’70
    2008 - Charles L. Moore Jr. ’84
    2009 - Julia Webb Bland ’69
    2010 - Sharon G. Lee ’71
    2011 - John L. (Jack) Neely ’76
    2012 - Jim Hart ’60
    2013 - Chip Denton ’76
    2014 - Bill Bass ’80
    2015 - Sarah Trahern ’82
    2016 - Vance Link ’67

Robert Webb Service Award

List of 1 items.

  • About Lou Moran III ’82 - 2018 Award Winner

    Webb Class of 1982 alumnus and alumni parent Lou Moran III is Webb School of Knoxville’s Robert Webb Service Award winner for 2018. Webb School President Michael McBrien presented Moran with Webb’s Robert Webb Service Award at this year’s Commencement.

    Moran is President of Inter-Agency Insurance Service in Knoxville. He has served multiple terms with the Insurors of Tennessee, from President of the Insurors of Knoxville to President of the State Association. Named Young Insuror of the Year and Insuror of the Year, Moran was instrumental in forming SecureRisk Tennessee, part of a co-op of 100 independent insurance agents in four states that write over $2.4 billion in premium. Moran is a National Director for the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA), and sits on the national InsurePAC committee and the Governmental Affairs committee.

    Locally, Moran has been involved with numerous community events and organizations, ranging from Tennessee Stage Company, ArtFest, Leadership Knoxville, and Leadership Children's Hospital to Knoxville Area Chamber Partnership, ChildHelp Tennessee, and Webb School's Alumni Council and Board of Trustees. Moran, along with his wife, Mimi '8o, and their children, Emily '14 and Lou IV '16, are part of a long family history of Webb graduates.

    “The recipient of this year’s award truly does bleed green,” Webb President McBrien told the audience at Commencement. “He is a Spartan through and through, and the pride he has for his school is admirable, and the work he does to build that pride in others is commendable.” Former president of Webb School’s Alumni Council and a member of Webb’s Board of Trustees, Moran has sparked a renewed sense of enthusiasm from Webb alumni, McBrien noted, and has increased alumni participation at reunions and events, and in philanthropy to the school.
    Read More
The Robert Webb Service Award, established in honor of Webb School of Knoxville founder, Robert Webb, recognizes a member of the alumni body who has distinguished him/herself through outstanding service and leadership to the Webb community.

List of 1 items.

  • Past Recipients

    2000 - James A. Haslam III ’72
    2001 - Edward U. Babb ’82
    2002 - Jefferson Chapman ’61
    2003 - J. Harvery White ’67
    2004 - Lee Congleton ’77
    2005 - Cheryl (Stockman) Massingale ’62
    2006 - Kenan Smith ’76
    2007 - Stephanie (Barnes) Ogden ’76
    2008 - Bill Bass ’80
    2009 - Steve Koella ’63
    2010 - Laura (Adams) Johnson ’79
    2011 – Taylor Hamilton ’83
    2012 – Mark Overholt ’83
    2013 – Dennis Ragsdale ’74
    2014 - Mike McClamroch ’82
    2015 - W. David Hovis ’86
    2016 - John Schmid ’86
    2017 - Jonathan Johnson ’93

2017 Alumni Achievement Awards

During our 2017 Spartan Alumni Weekend, eight Webb alumni, representing this year's reunion classes, were honored at the second annual Alumni Achievement Awards Luncheon. These individuals have distinguished themselves in their respective careers and have achieved outstanding success in their chosen professions while upholding the mission of Webb School. Learn more about our honorees by selecting the below image.