Alumni Awards

We have a saying at Webb School . . . “Once a Spartan, Always a Spartan.” Whether you attended Webb for one year or all 13 years, you're part of the Webb School family and its legacy.  Please feel free to visit our campus anytime. And please use the information and resources in this section to connect or reconnect with us.

Webb's Distinguished Alumni Award

List of 1 items.

  • About Attorney General Herbert Slatery ’70 - 2018 Award Winner

    Herbert H. Slatery III was sworn in as the Attorney General and Reporter for the State of Tennessee on October 1, 2014. He was appointed by the Supreme Court to serve an eight-year term.

    Prior to his appointment as Attorney General and Reporter, General Slatery served as Counsel to Governor Bill Haslam from 2011-2014. In addition to providing legal advice to the Governor, he oversaw the process for judicial appointments, coordinated the legal affairs of the executive branch for the Governor, assisted in the development and implementation of legislation, and reviewed requests for executive clemency and extradition.

    Before joining the Haslam Administration, General Slatery was in private practice in Knoxville, Tennessee with Egerton, McAfee, Armistead & Davis, P.C., for whom he served as President from 1998-2007, and Chairman from 2008 through January 2011. He practiced in the areas of finance (both private and local government), corporate governance, capital formation, real estate, and acquisitions and sales of businesses.

    General Slatery is a Knoxville native. He holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Virginia and a law degree from the University of Tennessee. He and his wife, Cary, have two children, Frances and Harrison, and one granddaughter, Carter Elizabeth Slatery.
Webb School of Knoxville's Distinguished Alumnus/na Award is presented annually to an alumnus/na whose business or professional accomplishments and service to others exemplify the goals of Webb School in the spirit of its motto, "principes non homines - leaders not men."
Nominations are received from alumni and other members of the Webb community. Webb’s Alumni Leadership Council will decide the recipient from the pool of candidates. Once submitted, nominations are kept on file for consideration for five consecutive years.
If you know of an alumnus/na who you would like to be considered for the award, please complete the nomination form (CLICK HERE FOR FORM) and return it to Rachel Junga, Assistant Director for Alumni Engagement & Development.

List of 1 items.

  • Past Recipients

    1991 - Jefferson Chapman ’61
    1992 - Robin L. Line ’64
    1993 - Teresa E. Barnett ’75
    1994 - W. Baxter Lee ’61
    1995 - William Haslam ’76
    1996 - Monica Langley ’76
    1997 - Michael McClamroch ’82
    1998 - Minky Worden ’85
    1999 - Iang Jeon ’78
    2000 - Missy Bell Boltwood ’81
    2001 - Paige Overton Pitts ’84
    2002 - Doug Briggs ’79
    2003 - Terri Tarvin Ward ’75
    2004 - Chad Pennington ’95
    2005 - Rebecca Hardin ’84
    2006 - Joseph M. Tipton ’64
    2007 - David A. Bowen ’70
    2008 - Charles L. Moore Jr. ’84
    2009 - Julia Webb Bland ’69
    2010 - Sharon G. Lee ’71
    2011 - John L. (Jack) Neely ’76
    2012 - Jim Hart ’60
    2013 - Chip Denton ’76
    2014 - Bill Bass ’80
    2015 - Sarah Trahern ’82
    2016 - Vance Link ’67
    2017 - Maurie McInnis ’84

Robert Webb Service Award

List of 1 items.

  • About George M. Krisle III ’62 - 2019 Award Winner

    Webb Class of 1962 alumnus and Webb alumni parent and grandparent Dr. George M. Krisle III was is Webb School of Knoxville’s Robert Webb Service Award winner for 2019. Webb School President Michael McBrien presented Krisle with Webb’s Robert Webb Service Award at this year’s Commencement.

    A cardiovascular disease specialist in Knoxville, George Krisle is a graduate of Harvard University. He later graduated from Emory University School of Medicine and completed his residency at Vanderbilt University. He and his wife, Susan, are parents of Spartan alumni Kevin Krisle ’90 and John Krisle ’92, and Whitney (Krisle) Bell ’97, and the proud grandparents of Bennett Bell ’30 and Blake Bell ’33. A longtime Spartan fan, attending numerous Webb sporting and school events, Krisle served on Webb’s Board of Trustees from 1977 to 1983, and has returned to that role on Webb’s current Board.

    President McBrien noted that Krisle grew up in Forest Heights in Knoxville, just around the corner from Webb School founder, Robert Webb, and his wife, Julie; and in his younger days, Krisle sometimes mowed the Webbs’ yard. “George still remembers the day when Mr. Webb knocked on his parents’ door to encourage them to send George to Webb,” McBrien told the audience at Commencement. “His parents listened to Mr. Webb, then his father said that all his son was interested in was sports and that he never studied. Mr. Webb responded with ‘your son has unrecognized potential’ and that Webb would provide him with an exceptional education.” Krisle went on to become president of the Student Government Association, a member of the Honor Committee, played on the Spartan basketball and football teams, and graduated Valedictorian of his Class of 1962. “Like our school’s motto, he was a leader at Webb,” McBrien said.

    “George loves this school more than anyone I know,” McBrien continued, and commended Krisle for his selflessness. “When he found out he was going to receive this award,” McBrien explained, “George wanted to make sure we knew that he felt the most important Webb graduates were the graduates sitting here with us today.”
    Read More
The Robert Webb Service Award, established in honor of Webb School of Knoxville founder, Robert Webb, recognizes a member of the alumni body who has distinguished him/herself through outstanding service and leadership to the Webb community.

List of 1 items.

  • Past Recipients

    2000 - James A. Haslam III ’72
    2001 - Edward U. Babb ’82
    2002 - Jefferson Chapman ’61
    2003 - J. Harvery White ’67
    2004 - Lee Congleton ’77
    2005 - Cheryl (Stockman) Massingale ’62
    2006 - Kenan Smith ’76
    2007 - Stephanie (Barnes) Ogden ’76
    2008 - Bill Bass ’80
    2009 - Steve Koella ’63
    2010 - Laura (Adams) Johnson ’79
    2011 – Taylor Hamilton ’83
    2012 – Mark Overholt ’83
    2013 – Dennis Ragsdale ’74
    2014 - Mike McClamroch ’82
    2015 - W. David Hovis ’86
    2016 - John Schmid ’86
    2017 - Jonathan Johnson ’93
    2018 - Lou Moran III ’82

2018 Alumni Achievement Awards

During our 2018 Spartan Alumni Weekend, ten Webb alumni, nominated by their classmates and representing this year's reunion classes, were honored at the third annual Alumni Achievement Awards Luncheon. These individuals have distinguished themselves in their respective careers and have achieved outstanding success in their chosen professions while upholding the mission of Webb School. Learn more about our honorees by selecting the below image.